Few months back, Jaden and Willow Smith (who happen to be Will Smith’s children) gave an interview (click) that made them a butt of internet jokes. Most mainstream media houses called the interview ‘bizarre.’ Some people called them wannabe intellectuals. Some people questioned their sanity. Some people said that the children were like this because they are the spoilt brats of rich people. Okay, I will confess something: I didn’t understand few things in the interview and no, I’m not going to call these kids ‘stupid’ because of my lack of knowledge. I simply think that they are on a different level of consciousness than I am and that could be the reason why I am unable to understand them. I didn’t find the interview ‘awesome’ but I certainly found some things interesting.

How have you gotten better?

WILLOW: Caring less what everybody else thinks, but also caring less and less about what your own mind thinks, because what your own mind thinks, sometimes, is the thing that makes you sad.

JADEN: Exactly. Because your mind has a duality to it. So when one thought goes into your mind, it’s not just one thought, it has to bounce off both hemispheres of the brain. When you’re thinking about something happy, you’re thinking about something sad. When you think about an apple, you also think about the opposite of an apple. It’s a tool for understanding mathematics and things with two separate realities. But for creativity: That comes from a place of oneness. That’s not a duality consciousness. And you can’t listen to your mind in those times — it’ll tell you what you think and also what other people think.

Now, I don’t know what they actually meant but I can only interpret in my own subjective way. We normally talk a lot about not giving a damn about what others think but what about our own mind? Like I wrote in ‘Are you living with a dictator’ , your mind can be a bully too. Atleast in my case, my mind convinces me that I’m always making a bad decision. For example: If I am afraid of alienation and decide to give into societal pressures instead of following my values and ideals, my mind shames me. But if I choose to stand up for my values and ideals, my mind will shame me in an another way. If I say no to bribe, my mind will say that I am a fool. Others are having fun and here I am, being an activist. Either way, I’m worthless. I guess, other people also feel this way because we always feel that the grass is greener on the other side. Buddha famously said that your mind can be worse than your biggest enemies. Maybe (sometimes) we need to stop giving a damn about what we think about our own selves too.

Talking about duality, you are in duality even as you are reading this. If you think that my blog is crap, your conclusion is based on your comparison with other blogs. Just think about this: if everybody in this world was beautiful, there would be no value of beauty. If everybody in this world was kind, there would be no value or even a concept of kindness! Kindness or beauty exist because of meanness and ugliness. In a way, Johnny Depp is beautiful because of those who are not beautiful. Gandhi is respected for his stance on non-violence because his ideas are compared to ones which are violent. In a way, Hitler cannot exist without Gandhi and Gandhi cannot exist without Hitler. Doesn’t this thought give you goosebumps?

Creativity as we all know is about creating something that didn’t exist before. To create something like that, you cannot think in duality because ( in my own personal experience) you don’t create creative ideas, you merely receive them. In a way, you have to rise above your little ego to be creative and surrender to something higher than you and in doing that, you become one with the universe. Your world is no longer that separate little world constructed by the ego. In a way, you have to rise above everything you know, everything you have been taught and take a quantum leap.

What’s fascinating is that Jaden is just 16 and Willow is just 14 (at the time of the interview) and they have such a great insight about the creative process and life in general. Even if they are talking like this to sound ‘intellectual’ or ‘new-agey’ it requires some knowledge. I agree that there are many pseudo spiritual people but why do we have to hastily judge these young artists?

Leave a Reply

