Books & Strips asked me to do this tag (thank you!). It was tough answering these questions because I have probably read more non-fiction but anyway, here it is:

1. Find a book for each of your initials.

LOL! I’m a South Indian and we have MANY names…so, I’ll just stick to the initials that matter :P.

sophie-s-world

Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

My friend gifted me this book on my birthday and it totally changed my life. It is not a literary masterpiece or anything. It is about Western Philosophy for those who have no idea about it. Written primarily for children, it is about a teenage girl who one day finds mysterious letter from a stranger saying “Who are you?”..and the stranger keeps sending these questions about life, universe and identity..together they discover what History’s greatest philosophers have to say about the mysteries of life.

Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

Okay, it is ‘The power of now’ but I guess it is alright. This book is different from other spiritual books because it says that if you are expecting it doesn’t talk about meditation or God. It doesn’t talk about law of attraction which is about getting what you want. This book says that no matter what you get in the future, you will get AT THAT TIME, i.e. in the present..and if you don’t know how to enjoy present, you can never enjoy anything.

2. Count your age along your bookshelf : What book is it?

662

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

 I loved this book  (I actually like ‘The Fountainhead’ more) when I was a teenager but I’m not sure if I agree with Ayn Rand’s ideas of selfishness anymore. It actually scares me to be very honest. But I admire her for standing up for such a controversial idea in a society which preaches selflessness all the time.

3. Pick a book set in your state/city/country

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

I don’t know if all the stuff happened in the author’s life but even if it didn’t happen, I love how the writer loves Mumbai. If you can ignore his obsession with being interesting, you would certainly appreciate his writing skills.

4. Pick a book that represents a destination you want to travel to.

THIS is tough because of the reason I mentioned earlier and also because I am not a big fan of traveling. I only want to visit two places: Tibet and Japan but unfortunately, I haven’t read any book which is set in these places (do let me know if you have any suggestions).

5. Pick a book that is your favorite color.

Chokher Bali by Rabindranath Tagore

I read this as a teenager and I will say one thing: If Rabindranath Tagore’s English translation is so good, I wonder how brilliant his original Bengali writing is (there was a time when I wanted to learn Bengali only to read his books).

6. Which book do you have the fondest memory of?

This might sound ridiculous but I always have fond memories of a book whose name I don’t remember! While growing up, I was a huge fan of people solving mysteries and this Indian novel was about kids trying to find a treasure. I wish I could remember the name but I can’t because it’s not a popular book :(. I could have picked something else but this book really made me happy at that time.

7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

Nausea by Jean Paul Sartre

I once joined an online book club and this book was the first (and the last :P) one that we picked up to read. I don’t think I would have read it otherwise and I’m glad there was a pressure to finish it. After completing half of the book, I was contemplating leaving the book club (I just COULDN’T get through it ) but when I finished it, it became one of my favorites.

8. Which book in your TBR pile would give you the biggest sense of achievement?

Simone De Beauvoir’s ‘The Second Sex.’

It will be an achievement because it was really tough to get through the biology parts in the book (the writer has described the biological differences between male and female in many species and it is exhausting) but this book is worth all the pain because it shows you how patriarchal the world is. I read about this book in this list of feminist books.

P.S. I am not tagging anyone but do share your books!

3 thoughts on “My Life In Books : Book Tag

  1. I’m so glad you did the tag. Read Keigo Higashino for Japan and Spy In Amber or Namme for a Tibetan story. The former is one of my favourite mystery writers. And Sophie’s world sounds brilliant. I’ll add it to my list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

