I honestly don’t explore a lot of music but I hope to change that in the future. There are some soundtracks in the recent times as well as the last few years which I believe are highly underrated.
1. Udaan
Both the movie and the soundtrack deserve more praise and attention. Amit Trivedi has gone on to compose for Bollywood heavyweights but this little gem of an album to me is one of his most underrated albums. The movie is  about a boy who wants to be a writer but is stuck with a Hitler like father. Amitabh Bhattacharya has written some really inspiring lyrics. If you are depressed and lost, listen to this album and I’m sure that you will feel much better.
[DEV D is an epic album I know, but I chose Udaan as it is less popular.]
2. Interstellar
Hans Zimmer can be a little repetitive sometimes. But the work that he has done with Christopher Nolan is brilliant. You know a soundtrack is outstanding when you notice something else besides Nolan’s awesomeness. I don’t know how this will appeal to those who haven’t seen the movie…because you just can’t separate the two!
3. Detective Byomkesh Bakshy
This is not a perfect album…but what I love about this soundtrack is the sheer courage of the composer to experiment. Sneha Khanwalkar,
is one of the very few female music directors in India and she could’ve easily taken an easy route because there are hardly any woman in her field anyway (are there ANY women music directors right now? Do let me know!). But she is such a badass woman that she doesn’t compromise even an inch in this album.
[Do check out the MTV Trippin album for her more ambitious work]
4. Tamasha
The first time I heard this album, I wasn’t really impressed. But that’s what happens with almost all good A.R.Rahman albums…they grow on you slowly. I thought the music complemented the movie really well. I personally think that you appreciate the music more once you watch the film. That, I believe, is a mark of a great film composer. You music might be out of this world but if doesn’t go along with the story then what’s the point of composing for films? One example of this is another ARR album, ‘Rang De Basanti’…can you imagine the film without the songs or the songs without the film?
Statutory Warning: Decision to listen to ‘Safarnama’ and ‘Tu Koi Aur Hai’ from ‘Tamasha’ at midnight can prove  hazardous to that side of you which wants to be practical and puts on a mask in front of the world. It might convince you to stop caring about what others think and follow your heart. Strictly not recommended to people who have dreams but do not want to (or cannot) fulfill them.

Leave a comment