Remember Milind Soman? Yes that handsome guy who comes right at the end of the popular Alisha Chinai music video ‘Made in India.’ He was quite a hit in the 90s and this one video made him very popular. I never thought that I would be talking about him especially after I (unfortunately) saw one of his films but he was in news few months back after he completed the Ironman Triathlon in Switzerland, which consists of a 3.86 km swim, a 180.25 km cycle race, and a 42.2 km run. He finished all that in 15 hours 19 minutes and 29 seconds. Pretty cool, right? So, I was just checking his Facebook page (ok, I admit, I checked it because he is still so hot!) and stumbled upon this:

Milind: As I’ve become older, I’ve taken a fond liking to simplicity. The kind of things I do, or need have evolved over time so I don’t think I necessarily even have a dream – I just love everything that’s happening around me and I get inspired from little things that make me think. Scientifically, everything is symbolic of everything else whether it’s an atom, the universe, love or a relationship. When you understand the principle of balance – where things happen around you or to you to balance the energy in the world – your life will become a lot simpler and clearer.

Interviewer: When was the last time you achieved that balance?

Milind: When I started to run and gave up smoking. I think I smoked my first cigarette when I was 29 waiting on the sets of a television show for no reason in particular. After that, while I was waiting around on set – I would be smoking 5 cigarettes at a time and 30 in a day. That’s what went on for the next few years of my life. I think when something is so acceptable, accessible and addictive – it’s the toughest to escape it.

Know that no one starts smoking for comfort…that’s what it does to you only once you’re addicted. I tried and failed to give up my addiction for a few years, until I really put my mind to it and that only happened when I decided to start running, I could feel it in my lungs and body that I was unfit and unhealthy. Having been naturally inclined to sports since a young age, I felt terrible about myself and that’s how I was able to release the habit for good over 6 months and now I can’t even passive smoke. So I guess from being a chain smoker to winning the title of Iron Man…balance was restored.

P.S. Merry Christmas 😀 :)!

2 thoughts on “Wisdom from pop culture: Restoring Balance

  1. “Know that no one starts smoking for comfort…that’s what it does to you only once you’re addicted.” I think it’s the same for almost all addictions. I love how he said it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

