So, I am doing a bit of research to get started on the books challenge that I mentioned yesterday. I found an English translation of ‘Quran’ on Kindle which is by Mohammad Wahiduddin Khan. My problem with scriptures is that I don’t know whose translation I should read. I read ISKCON’s ‘Bhagvad Gita’ and like I wrote in my post here (Click), I couldn’t handle the misogyny. Now, I’m not expecting objectivity from the writers because seriously, who is objective? But I expect human beings to be treated as human beings. In ISKCON’s version, the writer says that women are inferior to men. How can you even finish such book?

I was merely reading random things from the ‘Quran’ translation by Khan, who I found out is an Islamic scholar. Now, I’m aware that most religious texts are against women and I have read some shocking things about what Quran had to say about women. But I was still giving it a chance, because I wanted to find something good. Guess what I found? In one of the pages, it was written that a woman (woman not man) should be kept in the house and allowed to rot till death and also: she should be hit and then in the bracket, it is written ‘lightly.” This is a punishment for something I don’t exactly remember..it was probably infidelity. I mean, seriously?

In some places, the way they have described wives, it was as if they were describing property.

I believe in being open-minded. My goal is to find something good in Quran and other religious books. But things like the above makes it really difficult for anybody to give religion a chance. I think I will abandon the idea and the hope of finding something good in a religious scripture. I won’t generalize all scriptures of course and I cannot say much about Quran as well, as I have only read few pages but if somebody thinks these texts are flawless then I’m really really amazed. I don’t care if I go to hell for this.

7 thoughts on “To read or not to read: Quran

  1. ISKON and the Quran are the reasons I take my religion with a pinch of salt. I pray but I don’t follow anything else. Have you heard about the ISKON paedophile issue? That’s all I can picture when I hear their name. And I think the punishment for infidelity is being stoned to death.

    Like

    1. I was not aware of the ISKCON pedophile issue and I googled it…I just couldn’t read it though. It was too disturbing. Yes, you are right, the punishment for infidelity is death. I honestly don’t remember for what reason they prescribed hitting a woman…I don’t even want to go back to the book to find out.

      I’m glad you are open minded about spirituality because most religions (which has a monopoly over spirituality?) makes you lose all curiosity and intuition.

      Like

      1. The hitting is for the lack of obedience (I once had a misguided notion of doing religious studies. After reading a few books here and there to see if it’s my thing i tossed it out the window). My mum and elder brother are very spiritually inclined. My brother more than my mum. He loves Osho and follows his teachings “religiously” lol. My dad is neither religious nor spiritual. He just eats the prasadh and comments on how it tastes.

        Like

      2. Wow, your family seems very open-minded! Such a rarity in a country like India :D.

        There was a time when I was obsessed with Osho as well. I still like him, but I don’t worship him. I don’t agree with everything he says but he makes SOME sense and he is atleast different from other ‘gurus.’

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

