1. Room by Emma Donoghue

This is a story of a boy and his mother who are held captive in a small room. The mother teaches her son that the room is THE world…and there is nothing else beyond it. I wanted to see the movie adaptation after watching Brie Larson’s interview, but unfortunately, that hasn’t happened yet. I am looking forward to reading the book, because the plot is intriguing.

2. The Art of Choosing by Sheena Iyengar

Few years back, I came across Sheena Iyengar’s TED talk where she had interesting insights about the choices we make. She argued that the more choices are not always a good thing. She conducted numerous experiments where she found that having a lot of choices actually confused people.

3. Carol/The Prince of Salt by Patricia Highsmith

I have been dying to read this book, ever since I saw the movie ‘Carol’ (click). The only reason why I have not read this book is that I’m afraid. The movie was beautiful and I’m afraid that the book might fall short. This is absurd because it is usually the opposite, right?

4. My Gita by Devdutt Pattanaik

I’m surprised that I haven’t read this book because I usually am impatient when it comes to Devdutt’s work. I have a lot of expectations from this book because I am keen on reading Gita and my previous attempt has failed miserably. I read Iskcon’s Bhagvad Gita and it’s the worst mistake of my life.

5. Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

Marcus Aurelius was a Roman emperor who used to record his reflections, ideas, observations etc. in a private journal. He used to guide himself and talked about self-improvement in these writings. How fascinating it would be to get into the mind of a Roman emperor!

Which books are you planning to read in May?

Leave a Reply

