Few months after I started this blog, I started reading a lot of feminist articles. After understanding gender inequality, I decided to use ‘he/she’ instead of ‘he’ in almost all my blog posts. Initially, I was afraid of disappointing the readers. I didn’t and I don’t have a LOT of readers but there are some whom I value and I didn’t want to waste their time by adding more words to my already lengthy posts. On Facebook, I was afraid that my friends won’t read my posts because of this decision. But I stuck to my decision and I’m glad I made that choice. In some posts, I have to use a lot of pronouns and in that case, I have used ‘he’ and ‘she’ alternatively.

I cannot change the world but I can change the little things that I do everyday. Writing ‘He/She’ is not as revolutionary as revolting on the streets to demand voting rights for women but in a way, it is similar. Speaking up against sexist WhatsApp jokes is not as revolutionary as challenging the Sati tradition but in a way it is connected.  By writing ‘he/she’, I’m asking the readers to invest a little more time and urging them to be conscious of language and how it has shaped our world. He/She is my small way of challenging the patriarchy.

I’m aware that there are people out there who do not identify with any gender. Instead of he/she, they want others to address them as ‘they’ (if I am not wrong). If you are one of those people, then I want to apologize because I don’t have adequate knowledge about the ways of addressing you and what I should be avoiding while interacting with you. Please correct me in the comments and I will definitely rectify my mistake.
One thought on “Why I use ‘He/She’

Leave a Reply

