At the beginning of this year, I decided to take a reading challenge (Click). I set a goal of 100 books but unfortunately, I couldn’t reach the three figure mark. However, I managed to read 90 books. I have been employed, unemployed during this phase and I’m glad that I stuck to the goal. I admit that there were times when I read reluctantly. There were times when I looked for easy reads because of the work stress. But overall, I managed to read challenging books. I’m also glad that a lot of the books were by female authors.

One of the biggest lessons that I learned while taking the challenge is that words have a power that is beyond our comprehension. I also realized that there is a difference between getting a degree and getting an education. I will never get a degree for reading these books but I can say for sure that the education I received from these books has made me a better person. IMHO, true education is that which gives you the tools to deal with adversity and help others who are going through tough times. True education is also that which challenges you to be open to other’s point of view. The time I spent reading wonderful authors has been life-changing but I do have to pass an exam. The true test of the knowledge that I gained will be in the practical world. It is nice to feed your intellect with insights but ultimately, the learning has to help you when the chips are down. I hope I will pass this exam.

P.S. A big thank you to those who helped me find interesting books.

2 thoughts on “2016 reading challenge: Lessons

Leave a Reply

